ETA | Electronic Transactions Association

Paysafe / May-Nov 2019
Ingenico / July 2019

Events / Awards

ETA Hall of Fame

The ETA Hall of Fame was established to recognize those members whose contributions to the industry have been significant, substantial and long-standing.

  • Recognition within the industry as a founder, pioneer, visionary, or icon;
  • Enduring legacy and impact of contributions to the industry for a minimum of 10 years;
  • Active industry engagement and indisputable service as an ambassador of the industry;
  • Established record of innovation within payments technology

ETA honored the 2018 inaugural inductees at the ETA Hall of Fame Breakfast on Wednesday, October 3 , 2018 at the ETA Strategic Leadership Forum event in Dana Point, CA.

Complete inductee biographies and coverage from the Hall of Fame ceremony appeared in the Winter 2018 issue of Transaction Trends, the official publication of the Electronic Transactions Association.

Congratulations to the 2018 ETA Hall of Fame Inductees


Burtzloff founded Card Services International in his living room in 1988. By 1998, Card Services International was processing payments for tens of thousands of merchants entirely online, pioneering the age of e-commerce and expanding the payments industry's reach into the online world of commerce.


Faro is a pioneer and leader in payments processing. Across 40 years in the industry, Faro has served as CEO of Chase Merchant Services LLC, CEO of JetPay, and in multiple executive positions at First Data, including President of Global Merchant Services.

Faro is a recognized innovator in the payments industry, receiving honors for accelerating the electronification of payments and contributing to the industry through volunteer leadership.


Garcia presided over Global Payments Inc.'s tremendous growth from a $300-millon-a-year spinoff of National Data Corp, to a $2.5 billion international payments technology giant.

As CEO, Garcia led Global Payments Inc. through its IPO, and is recognized as the leader in bringing ISVs, VARs and other software disrupters into the payments ecosystem.


Hock is the mind behind the early development of Visa and was the payments giant's first Chief Executive Officer. An icon of the nascent years of the payments ecosystem, Hock was integral in creating Visa as a decentralized credit network accessible to financial institutions and consumers across the globe.


Kaplan was a well-known and respected entrepreneur and passionate advocate for ETA and its member companies. Kaplan was the founder of Superior Bankcard Services, CEO of Total Merchant Services, founder and CEO of Innovative Merchant Solutions and Innovative Gateway Solutions - companies he successfully built, brought to market and sold.

Kaplan served multiple terms on ETA's Board of Directors, including as President from 2006-2007.


Labry is a long-time executive and leader at the First Data Corporation, as well as founder of Concord EFS Inc. At Concord, Labry pioneered the acceptance of credit, debit and EBT transactions in supermarkets, and introduced pay-at-the-pump technology for gasoline stations.

He served as President of North America at First Data and eventually as Interim CEO after Concord's successful acquisition by the company in 2004.


McNamara, the founder of Diners Club International, conceived and executed an idea that established the credit card as a fixture of American consumer life. As the first independent credit card company in the world, Diners Club was the first company to bring everyday Americans access to credit in the form of a charge card that could be used at a network of merchants.


Rossi is an innovator of e-commerce and payments leadership. Across a decades-long career at Wells Fargo Merchant Services, Rossi led Wells Fargo to be the first bank to process a secure credit card transaction on the internet and oversaw the launch of the first credit and debit point-of-sale solution for grocery and quick-service restaurants in the United States.

2018 ETA Hall of Fame Selection Committee

A committee made up of industry leaders review nominations to the ETA Hall of Fame to ensure that each year's inducted class represents the best our industry has to offer.

2018 committee members are:

  • John Barrett
  • Chris Lee
  • Robin Leidenthal
  • Rick Pylant
  • Holli Targan
  • James Wester

EVENTS / Where the electronic payments industry connects

Strategic Leadership Forum

September 25-27, 2019 • Boca Raton Resort & Club • Boca Raton, FL

Created especially for top-tier payments industry leaders and innovators, ETA SLF is customized to provide optimal experiences for new relationships, new thinking, and new strategies. Veterans will share the stage and space with the industry’s new entrepreneurs in an engaging oceanside setting where exclusivity and expectations combine to bring your business forward.

TRANSACT Tech San Francisco

November 18, 2019 • Wells Fargo Connections Center

TRANSACT Tech is a one-day event where leading-edge banking, retail and FinTech companies come together with innovative startups and venture capitalists to further business connections, build strategic relationships and secure new opportunities.

Attendees include senior level payments industry executives including financial institutions, technology companies, investment and VC firms, and analysts.

Save the Date

September 25-27, 2019
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Boca Raton, FL

November 18, 2019
Wells Fargo Connections Center

April 28-30, 2020
Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas